Director and Steering Group


Troels Staehelin Jensen, Director of the INDC

Professor of Clinical Neurology, Department of Clinical Medicine, Aarhus University and Department of Neurology, Aarhus University Hospital

Pain Research has for the last 30 years been a driving force for Troels Staehelin Jensen, focusing on basic, clinical and translational aspects of pain including the underlying mechanisms of pain and how it is modulated under normal conditions and when pain occurs in disease states. As a neurologist he has had a particular interest in diseases and lesions affecting the nervous system. He and his fellows have systematically analyzed the epidemiology and clinical characteristics of a series of pain disorders: nerve injuries, neuropathies, spinal cord injury, multiple sclerosis and stroke. He was President of the International Association for the Study of Pain 2005-2008 and serves on various international committees and is currently IASP Liaison to South East Asia.

Link to profile page

Steering Group

Nanna Brix Finnerup

Professor, Danish Pain Research Center, Aarhus University

Nanna Brix Finnerup obtained her degree of Doctor of Medical Sciences from Aarhus University in 2008 and has done neuropathic pain research since 1998. She is a Treasurer of the Neuropathic Special Interest Group of IASP (NeuPSIG), President of the Scandinavian Association for the Study of Pain (SASP), and Section Editor of Pain. Finnerup is part of the IMI "Europain" consortium. Research interests include neurophysiology, neuropharmacology, mechanisms and treatment of neuropathic pain.

Link to profile page

Henning Andersen

Professor of Neurology and consultant neurologist, Department of Neurology, Aarhus University Hospital

Henning Andersen completed his neurology specialist training at Aarhus University Hospital in 2003 and has served as consultant in neurology since then. His main clinical activities include all aspects of neuromuscular disorders with a special interest in peripheral neuropathy and diabetic neuropathy in particular. He has 25 years' research experience with diabetic neuropathy, experimentally and clinically. He has been involved in international collaborative efforts on diabetic neuropathy for many years including clinical studies and international expert meetings. Since 2010, he has been member of the executive committee of Neurodiab and has served as its chairman since 2012.

Link to profile page